Economics House is the home of the UMW Department of Economics. It was built as a private home and acquired by UMW in 2007. It has entrances along College Avenue and Buckner Street. The house has a beautiful garden in the back, connecting to the Mansion at the corner of William Street.
Known as “The Mansion,” this brick house on the corner of William Street and College Avenue houses the Debate Team and Creative Writing programs. It was built as a private home and acquired by UMW in 2007.
Named after the University’s second president, Chandler Hall was built in 1928 and remodeled in 1981. It served as the College Training School for student teachers before a 1938 renovation. Chandler is now home to the University’s Department of Psychology and the College of Business Fredericksburg faculty.
Once the science building, in 2002, Combs Hall became the home to the departments of English, Linguistics, and Speech; Modern Foreign Languages; and Historic Preservation. The Center for Historic Preservation is located in Combs. The Modern Foreign Language department offers courses in French, German, Italian, Spanish, Chinese, and Arabic. Combs houses the language lab as well as technology-enabled lecture halls, labs, conference rooms, and comfortable public study areas.
The Information and Technology Convergence Center, currently under construction, will be an “academic commons” building — a place where a variety of technology, information, and teaching resources will come together in an environment that is modern, energetic, and vibrant. The four-story building will have a variety of spaces enabling students, faculty, and staff to interact with one another on both curricular and extracurricular activities. The building will be technology-rich and designed to facilitate the application of current innovative learning technologies and structured to permit smooth transitions to new technologies as they develop.
For more detailed information on the project, visit the provost’s Web site >
The Center for Education and Research at UMW’s Dahlgren campus is designed to support the advanced educational needs of the professionals on and near the Naval Support Facility (NSF) Dahlgren. The two-story, 42,000-square-foot, opened in January 2012, includes classroom space, an executive conference room and a multipurpose room that seats more than 200 people.
Directions: There are no directions to this campus currently on Google Maps since the road is so newly built. For written directions to UMW’s Dahlgren campus, visit our Maps and Directions web site.
DuPont Hall is the central building in the arts complex at UMW, and houses the Department of Theatre and Dance. Students may act in one of the numerous plays and musicals that are performed in Klein Theatre or Studio 115, located in duPont.
duPont Gallery displays student and faculty fine art exhibits throughout the academic year.
Additional offices in duPont include Teaching and Learning Technologies and the Teaching Center.
Jepson Science Center has it all: hardwired classrooms, lightning-fast data-video-voice technology, 120 student scientific workstations, a greenhouse, its very own x-ray diffractometer, and two new electron microscopes. Every student, regardless of major, will need to take two semesters of a science at the University of Mary Washington, and Jepson’s facilities help make these classes both interesting and enjoyable.
Melchers Hall houses the Department of Art and Art History. The building houses seven art studios, a darkroom, two art history lecture rooms, a slide library, and a digital media lab. The lab is equipped with software for imaging, text layout, video processing, and multimedia and web production.
Monroe Hall underwent a multimillion-dollar renovation that was completed in summer 2011. Monroe holds the distinction of being the original academic building on campus. Its lobby walls feature murals depicting people, locations, and events important to the the history of the United States and Virginia. Appropriate to its historic roots, the building houses the departments of History and American Studies, Political Science and International Affairs, Geography, and Sociology and Anthropology.
Brent House, right at the end of the Double Drive, is home to Emergency Management and Safety and the University Police.
Opened in 2010, Eagle Village is a mixed use retail and office complex managed by the UMW Foundation.
Fairfax House is one of the three white houses along the College Avenue side of the campus. It is the location of the Office of Human Resources.
As you round the traffic circle from the Double Drive, George Washington Hall, the University main administration building, will be to your right. Often called simply “GW,” it is here that students find the President’s Office and other administrative offices. Also located in GW is Dodd Auditorium, the largest formal gathering place on campus. Students may find themselves gathering here to receive their class rings, to see a weekend movie, to see their friends perform, travel the red carpet to the UMW Film Festival, or catch a concert or speaker. Recent guests have included Gavin DeGraw, Lonestar, The Roots, Ralph Nader, Garrison Keillor, Lewis Black, Eve 6, Lupe Fiasco, and the Plain White T’s.
Hamlet House is one of the three white houses along College Avenue. It houses the facilities for the UMW Phonathon, a group of student volunteers who annually work to raise support for the University.
Built as a private home more than 80 years ago, the house known as “Trench Hill” was acquired by the University in 1948 and was expanded and modernized during a major renovation in 2004. Today, the Jepson Alumni Executive Center is the welcome and information center for all Mary Washington alumni, and it also serves as a versatile, yet elegant venue for community, corporate, and family events. The three-wing complex includes the UMW Offices of Alumni Relations and University Advancement, the Rappahannock Grand Ballroom, the Minor Boardroom, and Kalnen Inn.
In the spirit of southern hospitality, the Jepson Alumni Executive Center also provides first-class overnight accommodations, function rooms, and catering for romantic weddings, private parties, corporate events, board meetings, elegant galas, and more. The facilities are available almost year-round with the exception of certain state holidays and the holiday week between Christmas and New Year’s. For more information about reserving space within the facility, visit the Jepson Alumni Executive Center website.
Lee Hall has recently undergone a major renovation. It is now home to a spacious new bookstore, a comprehensive one-stop student services center that centralizes student academic and financial services in one place. Students and visitors can purchase books, supplies, snacks, drinks, UMW accessories, and other sundry items in the UMW Bookstore. The Underground is a popular coffeehouse, snack bar, intimate live-music venue, and gathering spot for students.
Along campus walk, set back from the main walkway opposite George Washington Hall and behind Trinkle Hall is Marye House. This houses the Office of Residence Life and Commuter Student Services, Judicial Affairs and Community Responsibility, and the Dean of Student Life.
Mercer Hall is the home of Judicial Affairs and Community Responsibility and the Honor Council. In the future, it will house the department of Psychology.
The physical plant is the heart of the Facilities Services department at UMW. It houses facilities services offices and meeting spaces, carpentry and electrical shops, and a large warehouse area for deliveries and campus surplus. Everything and everyone that goes into making the UMW campus so beautiful comes from his humble building facing the Battlefield Athletic complex.
Behind the Fitness Center is the Anderson Center which opened fall 2011. This new facility offers an exciting new venue for sports as well as major concerts and performances. It will provide basketball courts and seating for 1,700 spectators at UMW men’s and women’s varsity games, and seating for up to 3,000 for concerts and other community events.
The Battleground<, the outdoor athletic complex which includes fields for soccer, lacrosse, field hockey, and softball; a synthetic 800-meter track; a baseball stadium and 12 lighted outdoor tennis courts.
Along Sunken Road and the north side of the campus are the fields used by the sports clubs and recreation programs. For more information about our various recreational sports programs, visit our Athletics website.
Goolrick Hall is home to the swimming pool that is open to all students and the weight room that is equipped with modern weight-lifting equipment. In addition to these features, students will find indoor basketball and volleyball courts, locker rooms, dance studios, and a trophy gallery, which attests to our outstanding record in intercollegiate athletics.
The multi-million-dollar cardiovascular Fitness Center offers a 20,000-square-foot facility and is equipped with state-of-the-art fitness equipment as well as an on-site trainer. Recreation classes and programs are offered in the fitness center for students, faculty, and staff.
Constructed the summer of 2005, the six-court, state-of-the-art University Indoor Tennis Center is located next to the award-winning 12-court outdoor tennis facility at the Battleground Athletic Complex.
The University Tennis Center is open to all patrons, students, members, and non-members. The Center Director and Staff offer Private, Semi-private, and Group Lessons for all age appropriate individuals. They also offer camps for Elementary, Middle, and High School students.
For more information, visit the Tennis Center website.
The UMW Bookstore, located in Lee Hall, is owned and operated by the University of Mary Washington. All of the profits support UMW students and programs. We encourage you to make the UMW Bookstore your one-stop location for all UMW-branded gear and textbooks. Visit the Bookstore website! Bookstore Hours: Monday – Thursday: 8:00 a.m. – 7:00 p.m., Friday: 8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m., Saturday: 10:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m., Sunday: Closed; Phone Number: 540-654-1017.
This proud oak appears in a Matthew Brady photo depicting the Union soldiers following the battle of Fredericksburg (see below), along with images of this amazing tree as it stands today in Summer, Winter, and Spring. Read more about the Brompton Oak at trekearth.com.
The Carmen Culpeper Chappell Centennial Campanile in the center of the traffic circle at the end of the “double drive,” towers beside GW Hall. During her college years, Carmen Culpeper Chappell ’59 enjoyed history, architecture, and her “home away from home” on the Mary Washington campus. After she died in 2003, the Chappell family wanted a special tribute in her honor at her beloved alma mater. The campanile was dedicated to her memory on the eve of Commencement 2007. The 88-foot-tall bell tower is a distinctive landmark for the campus and was a symbol for the University’s Centennial Celebration in 2008.
Location: 1115 Jefferson Davis Highway
Fredericksburg, VA 22401-4415
Hours: Mon–Sat 9–10; Sun 12–6
Phone: (540) 371-4393
At Babaganoush Mediterranean Grill, we have combined traditional Mediterranean and traditional Indian spices in one and the results are grilled Mediterranean shish-kabob. Our spicy broiled potato stuffing inside crispy flour dough served with spicy chutney. Our Shami Kebab burger made out of beef and freshly minced chickpeas served with grilled onions and mushrooms would surely challenge your taste buds. Just like the name says if you like eggplant, you will love our Babaganoush. It’s a common Mediterranean dip made with Grilled Egg plant, Tahini, Garlic, Olive Oil and spices. It is usually eaten with pita bread Naan.
Our menu also includes chicken and Steak curry made with all natural organic tomato sauce, organic spinach, fresh garlic, and ginger and all natural spices, served with Basmati rice. Our menu is small and affordable yet we will not compromise when it comes to taste and freshness.
Mediterranean Wraps- Our customers can select their choice in meats, chicken, Steak, ground beef and Falafel for their wrap. We’ll try to use all natural ingredients for our wraps, including organic spinach, Humus, Tahini sauce (nutty and slightly sweet), natural herbs and low fat Mediterranean salad.
Service: Gourmet coffee, other beverages and various foods.
Location: 1113 Jefferson Davis Highway
Fredericksburg, VA 22401
Hours: M–F 6am–10pm; Sa 7am–10pm; Su 7am–9pm
Phone: (540) 479-1355
Blackstone Coffee Company opened their doors in 2008 providing their customers with the freshest coffee in the region.
This is possible through the roasting expertise utilized by Don Merritt, owner and operator of Blackstone Coffee Company. With his love for coffee and keen knowledge of the roasting process, Blackstone Coffee Company is able to roast the highest quality Arabica coffee beans for you.
All of their coffee beans are imported directly from South/Central America, South East Asia, and Africa. Once here, they are carefully roasted and ground to make the perfect cup of coffee.
Whether you are drinking from their cup or your favorite mug, you will experience the difference of freshly roasted coffee. Come on in and meet Don or buy our coffee directly through the Online Shop.
1779 Carl D Silver Pkwy
Fredericksburg, VA 22401
Service: Chinese-American restaurant serving eat-in diners, take-out and delivery.
Hours: M–F 11–10; Sa 11–11; Su 11–10
Location: 1251 Jefferson Davis Highway
Fredericksburg, VA 22401-4415
Phone: (540) 374-8230
China Star, known for serving larger portions than many other dine-in restaurants serving Asian cuisine, provides expectional service with more dining selections available than most other take-outs. Simply place your order by phone and it will be ready when you arrive or you can allow us to quickly bring you your order. We offer speedy delivery!
3051 Plank Rd.
Fredericksburg, VA 22401
Service: Mexican Grill, Eat-in, Take-out.
Get the ordering app: http://itunes.apple.com/app/chipotle-ordering/id327228455?mt=8
Hours: Mon-sun, 11am – 10pm
Service: Restaurant serving Southern American cuisine to eat-in diners.
Location: 1201 Jefferson Davis Highway
Fredericksburg, VA 22401-4415
Phone: (540) 371-3767
It seems everywhere you go these days, you hear about value. At Country Cookin, value is nothing new. For all of our 25+ years of existence, we’ve been a great value. It’s simply at the root of who we are.
These are clearly tough economic times for our country. We, like most other individuals and companies, face increasing costs. We have thoroughly examined our business to be sure we are operating in the most efficient way possible. We are working hard to make the most of the cost-saving opportunities we have and keep menu price increases to a minimum. We remain committed to our founder’s guiding principle of quality food and excellent service at affordable prices. It’s what you’ll find every day at Country Cookin.
We believe you won’t find a better value for your dining dollars anywhere than Country Cookin. It’s how we run our business because it’s what you deserve.
On the ground floor of the Woodard Campus Center, the Eagle’s Nest offers a variety of meals for students and visitors to the campus. EagleOne cards, as well as cash and credit cards, are accepted. There is an inside dining area as well as large a covered porch for outside dining. Hours during the academic year (subject to change) are as follows:
|Monday – Wednesday||5:00pm – 11:00pm|
|Thursday – Friday||5:00pm – 1:00am|
|Saturday||2:00pm – 1:00am|
|Sunday||2:00pm – 11:00pm|
For more information, visit the UMW Dining website.
Service: Restaurant serving American cuisine to eat-in diners.
The Home Team Grill has a special every night and a live band on Fridays making it one of the hottest places to hang out! Enjoy sipping on summer libations with friends and colleagues, or host a catered event. Come out on a date or take a lunch with the kids, we are the place for you.
806 William Street Fredericksburg, VA 22401; Phone: (540) 370-4590; jakeandmikes.com
2805 Plank Road
Fredericksburg, VA 22401
The Amphitheatre is a quiet, secluded place, just off Campus Walk. This beautiful place is used for outdoor classes, meetings and serves as somewhere to get away from it all. The Amphitheatre cannot be scheduled for use, and is intended for informal and impromptu classes and meetings only. It is not wheelchair accessible.
Directly across from Lee Hall is a spacious lawn called Ball Circle. The heart of campus, Ball Circle is the home to Commencement, Devil-Goat Day, Club Carnival, the Multicultural Fair, and dozens of planned events. But every day, you’ll find students gathered there for conversation, relaxation, and pick-up games of Frisbee.
This field surrounded by Jefferson, Combs, and Bushnell halls is a frequent gathering spot for students. Adirondack chairs, study groups, frisbee and conversation fill this field during the warmer months.
Kalnen Court, home of the “big clock” just outside Woodard Campus Center, was named for the Kalnen family by the UMW Board of Visitors in fall 2000 in recognition of a generous gift from Ms. Elizabeth “Becky” Kalnen ’37, in honor of her sister, Margaret Rose Kalnen Damke ’33, and their parents, Mr. and Mrs. Nicholas Kalnen. The court provides a lovely outdoor resting place, with benches and large trees lining its borders.
Continuing along Campus Walk, as you pass Virginia Hall on your left, you find Palmieri Plaza, located directly between the three oldest buildings on campus: Virginia, Willard, and Monroe halls. Students commonly gather between classes at the fountain in the plaza, and on warm days, students have been known to mistake the fountain for a swimming pool.
The Underground, located in Lee Hall, is the premier entertainment spot on UMW’s campus. With programs happening all week long, there is always something to do in the Underground.
Past the fountain and down the hill from Palmieri Plaza lies the Woodard Campus Center. The Campus Center serves as a one-stop eatery, lounge, and post office. The Eagles Nest offers a variety of foods including bagels, subs, hot sandwiches, pizza, Southwestern and Asian fare, soft pretzels, and more. The Back Room of the Eagle’s Nest offers weekend table service and televisions. The Washroom is a student recreation area with pool tables, ping pong tables, TVs, computer stations, and comfy chairs.
A Virginia Credit Union ATM allows students convenient access to banking, and a full-service post office meets all the students’ mailing needs.
Brompton, as it is known today, is the home of the President of the University of Mary Washington. It was built by Mr. Laurence Marye, in 1838, whose family was prominent in Virginia prior to, and during, the Civil War.
The house stands high on a hill overlooking the city of Fredericksburg. It was this hill, known as Trench Hill (because of the trenches dug during the battle), where General Burnside led his men into a perilous uphill charge in the Battle of Fredericksburg. The house also served as a federal hospital during the war. Matthew Brady captured a photo of wounded soldiers being treated there beneath the Brompton Oak, which still stands today.
The home is the President’s private residence, but several social gatherings are held there by invitation throughout the year.
duPont Gallery, with its hardwood floors, professional quality lighting system, unbroken wall expanses, and modern furniture, is a handsome and functional counterpart to the Ridderhof Martin Gallery. It is located on the ground floor of duPont hall, just off the entry foyer.
Built in the 1790s, the Belmont property passed to Gari and Corinne Melchers in 1916. The house and its surrounding twenty-five acres were considerably run-down. The couple took great pride and pleasure in the improvements made to their “country house.” No picturesque detail was overlooked and every opportunity to provide views of the lawns and gardens from the house was investigated.
A National Historic Landmark, Gari Melchers Home and Studio is one of just 30 of America’s most significant artists’ spaces included in the National Trust for Historic Preservation’s Historic Artists’ Homes and Studios consortium.
Gari Melchers Home and Studio is home to the official Stafford County Visitor Center which is open daily 9 am – 5 pm. No visit to Fredericksburg is complete without a visit to Gari Melchers Home and Studio at Belmont.
Detroit architect, John Donaldson, a longtime friend of Gari Melchers, designed the stone studio structure according to the artist’s specifications. Work was completed on the stone building in 1924.
Today the building continues to serve as a Melchers showcase, housing the largest collection of his paintings and drawings anywhere—some 1600 items in all—and features rotating exhibitions spanning the whole of his career. 2006 saw an an addition of an Studio Pavilion which is rented for weddings and special events. For more information about pavilion rentals, call 540.654.1848.
The James Monroe Museum and Memorial Library, located in historic downtown Fredericksburg, Virginia, is the largest repository in the country for artifacts and documents related to the fifth president of the United States. The museum was first opened in 1927 by Monroe descendants as a place to house their own personal collections, which had been handed down through generations of the family. Eventually, the museum and its extensive collections were turned over to the Commonwealth of Virginia, and the museum is now administered by the University of Mary Washington.
For more information, visit the museum website.
Located on the Sunken Road side of the Jepson Alumni Executive Center the graciously designed Kalnen Inn is reminiscent of an era gone by but its incomparable standards and services are up to the minute. The result is an enclave of comfort and hospitality where your stay is destined to be an exceptional experience. The entire inn, including the Chappell Parlor, Grizzard Salon and three upstairs guest suites may be rented as a package for maximum privacy. For the smaller, intimate reception, luncheon, dinner or meeting, the first floor may be rented separately and each of the three guest overnight suites may be rented individually.
For more information, visit the Jepson Alumni Executive Center website.
The Melchers Museum Shop, open daily, 10 a.m. to 5 p.m., is located within the Marguerite Stroh Building, on the grounds of Gari Melchers Home and Studio.
The Marguerite Stroh Building is also the official home of the Stafford County Visitor Center, open daily, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.. Visitors will find information about Stafford County attractions, restaurants, hotels and other amenities.
Visit www.TourStaffordVa.com or call 540-658-8681 for more information on Stafford County tourism.
Exit via the front of duPont Hall, and take an immediate left to approach Ridderhof Martin Gallery, which houses traveling art exhibits as well as the University’s extensive collection. A working gallery, here students receive hands-on experience with cataloging, exhibiting, and restoration.
The James Farmer Memorial was unveiled on April 20, 2001. It is in commemoration of the late Dr. James Leonard Farmer, Civil Rights Leader, founder of Core, and professor of History and Education at Mary Washington College. Dr. Farmer passed away in 1999. More information on the legacy of James Farmer may be found at the James Farmer website.
The UMW pedestrian bridge spans Route 1 and safely connects UMW and the College Heights neighborhood to the Eagle Village complex. A dramatic addition to the Fredericksburg landscape, the bridge also serves as a gateway to the city.
Dodd Auditorium is the University of Mary Washington’s multi-use performance space. Dodd Auditorium offers fixed seating for 1278, within the balcony and orchestra levels. The orchestra level seats 915 with 10 handicapped spaces for wheelchair placement and the balcony seats the remaining 356. This venue has served as host to many events which include the Fredericksburg Forum, Boys & Girls Club of America Annual Step Show, UMW Philharmonic, Great Lives Lecture Series, Foreign Film Festival, PAC Dance Concerts, and many other Department of Music and Student events. During this past year, over 200 events were held in Dodd. Dodd Auditorium is fully ADA accessible and includes an ALS (Assisted Listening System) in addition to wheelchair seating.
A large multi-purpose space, The Great Hall in Woodard Campus Center is the home of many student concerts and events. Past concerts in the great hall have included Elby Brass, Jimmy Eat World and Kreayshawn & Neon Indian. Located on the second floor of Woodard, the Great Hall converts from a concert hall, to dining space, to conference facility with adjacent meeting rooms and kitchen facilities.
An intimate 295-seat proscenium stage, Klein Theatre has served as the primary venue for the Department of Theatre & Dance’s main stage productions since 1952. The theatre, a state-of-the-art facility, is an invaluable department resource that allows students to apply the classroom-taught concepts in an experimental learning-based environment. Each academic year, the department produces four main-stage productions in the space. The theatre also serves as the primary classroom setting for Stagecraft and Scene Painting.
For more information, visit the Theatre and Dance website.
A flexible black-box theatre run by the Studio 115 Committee, a student-run organization. The space seats up to fifty patrons and features the talents of our students and faculty.
For more information, visit the Theatre and Dance website.
Alvey is home to approximately 150 first-year students living on four floors. All rooms have suite bathrooms, bunkable beds, wooden desks and central air conditioning. Special features of Alvey Hall include a kitchen and laundry room on each floor and an elevator. Alvey Hall traditions include Alveypalooza, an open-air concert held in April.
During the 2012-2013 academic year, floors 1-3 of Arrington Hall will be reserved for first-year students. The 4th floor will be available for upperclass students. Arrington has suite bathrooms and central air-conditioning.
Available to upperclass females only, Ball Hall is home to both the Korean and Afghan Exchange programs as well as some of the nicest lounges on campus!
Bushnell, completed in 1959, is a co-ed, mixed-year residence hall named for Nina Bushnell, Mary Washington College’s Dean of Women from 1921 to 1950. It is the first hall to provide housing to all four classes of students. Located on the south end of campus, Bushnell houses 151 men and women in double and quad occupancy rooms featuring suite baths. Bushnell’s rooms are spacious and feature large windows.
Bushnell also features a lobby complete with a TV room and a ping-pong table. Each floor has a separate kitchen, study lounge, and an additional TV room. Laundry and vending machines are located on the second floor.
Beginning in Fall 2012, Custis Hall will open to upperclass students for the first time in many years. Custis Hall will offer a 24 hour study/quiet environment for individuals who prefer a quieter residence hall experience.
Cross the pedestrian bridge and you will find UMW’s newest residential community.
Opening for its third year, Eagle Landing is available to sophomores, juniors and seniors. Eagle Landing is strongly recommended for individuals who need to remain on campus during break periods. Full kitchens with ice-makers, microwaves and a fully-furnished living room are part of the amenities.
Jefferson Hall is a co-ed, first-year residence hall named for Thomas Jefferson, president of the United States and founder of the University of Virginia. Jefferson Hall is adjacent to Combs Hall adjacent to the Double Drive at the main entrance. Approximately 192 students live in Jefferson.
Jefferson has elevators, hall bathrooms, and features double and triple rooms. The 1st through 4th floors have two kitchenettes per floor, one in each wing of each floor. Kitchenettes include microwaves, sinks, counter space, and cabinets. However, the kitchenettes do not provide ovens or stoves. Both the laundry room and vending machines are located on the basement floor. The first floor includes a lobby, provided with a beloved ping-pong table, a plethora of furniture, and a big screen TV!
The large field in front of Jefferson is often populated by students soaking up the sun, studying under the large shady trees, lounging in the Adirondack chairs listening to someone strumming their guitar, or just playing a game of football. There is nearly always someone out on the field when the weather is right!
Home to the Gender Neutral Housing Community. Upperclass students who wish to reside in GNH must apply for consideration. For more information on GNH, please contact email@example.com.
Available to upperclass students only. Offers large rooms and a great exercise program! (Hey, the hill isn’t THAT bad!) Features include community areas in each wing and spacious lobbies.
There is a limited number of visitor spaces available at the athletic complex on Hanover Street. For more information on Visitor Parking at UMW, please visit the Parking Management website.
The Double Drive is the main entryway to the campus from College Avenue. The end of the Drive is marked by the Carmen Chapell Campanile, which is large clocktower beside George Washington Hall. Along its southernmost side, just as one enters the campus, there is a row of designated parking spaces for visitors adjacent to Jefferson Square. Although near Dodd Auditorium, visitor parking here fills up quickly for special events. It is recommended that visitors park in the Parking Deck at the north side of the campus for major events at Dodd and the Anderson Center.
The Eagle Village Parking Deck is open to retail customers after 5 p.m. During the workday, it is open only to those working in the Eagle Village offices. Levels 3 and above are reserved for UMW students with appropriate permits.
Eagle Village has 970 public surface spaces in the parking lots surrounding the offices and retail stores, including Giant supermarket.
The UMW parking deck, off Rt. 1, and lots along Sunken Road offer easy-to-reach spaces for visitors to campus. The deck operates 24 hours a day and is equipped with security cameras, elevators, and emergency communications kiosks. For events at the Anderson Center, and certain large events, such as commencement and Dodd Auditorium concerts, the parking deck is the best place for visitor parking. For more information on Visitor Parking at UMW, please visit the Parking Management website.
There are a limited number visitor spaces available at the Physical Plant on Hanover Street. For more information on Visitor Parking at UMW, please visit the Parking Management website.